cigarette

Like a stick of cigarette,

I watch him burn.
Slowly,

millimeter by millimeter,

I watch him crumble into ashes.
Giving me a short-term warmth,

a temporary escape,

he is.
Burning with him

are my pains

and fears

and hatred.
Like a stick of cigarette,

I watch him burn.
Like a stick of cigarette,

I let him burn me

until nothing else is left of us

but ashes of the past.
Like a stick of cigarette,

I enjoy watching him burn..

Drowning me with the smoke

that fills everybody else’s lungs

without them knowing.
Like a stick of cigarette,

I watch him die.

I let him die,
So I can live.

 

 

h.a.m

042716

Leave a Reply

