dear child,

I wish for you not to grow up, for growing up means getting hurt; growing up means losing your shine; growing up means getting tired of your life and everything else.

I wish for you not to grow up, for growing up means being afraid. Do NOT be afraid. Never lose the heart that trusts, the heart that knows exactly where he belongs.

I wish for you not to grow up, for growing up means having a messed up sense of dependence (and independence alike).

I wish for you not to grow up, for growing up comes with a growing ego.

I wish for you not to grow up, for growing up means breaking your parents’ hearts.

I wish for you not to grow up, for the best part of life is being a child.

I wish for you to grow wiser, but do not grow up.. for growing up means believing that your intelligence will bring you to wherever you want to go. Believe me, it won’t.

But above anything else, I wish for you to grow up: to be the man you are meant to become. Grow wise, grow smart, grow loving, grow honest, grow generous, grow happy, grow strong.

Enjoy growing up.
Enjoy being a child.
Enjoy being you.

You’re a child of wisdom and strength, so don’t lose that.

We love you.


PS.
It’s a shitty life out there, so take care of your heart. I wish for it not to be as broken as mine.

h.a.m

Leave a Reply

